The Grand Hotel Richelieu was built in 1883.
In 1929, two more floors were added to what was
four-storey building, under the supervision of the architect Marcel Jarrier, some of
whose other designs can still be seen in and around Royat.
Over the years this 125-year-old building has conserved its typical
late-nineteenth century style. During the renovations in 1929 Jarrier the architect added the bas reliefs featuring the Auvergne crest and the shell designs (characteristic emblems of spa towns) that can be seen on the pediments of the south-facing façade.
Aristocrats and various persons of private means, as well as bathers from France and further afield stayed in the hotel, which, as early as 1900, could boast of an elevator, electricity and its own telephone line (a rare luxury for the times). The development of a growing spa activity drew in a new clientele coming to take the waters from April to October, thus giving rhythm to the life of Royat's resort for many years.It originally went by the name of Grand Hôtel Richelieu before becoming the Richelieu Palace Hotel, but was to change owner and name many times before closing in 1999.
In 2001 the premises were bought by Isidore Fartaria, CEO of the TITEL Group but extensive renovation and refurbishment only began in 2005. The hotel underwent major restoration work very much in keeping with the spirit of the building so that today its original decoration, high level of comfort and up-to-the-minute facilities make it a fine example of the very opposite extreme of a chain hotel. Renamed the “Princesse Flore” a (after Isidore Fartaria's second daughter), it is the first 5-star hotel to be opened in Clermont-Ferrand and its surroundings.